Annoying or Cool?? Create an animated or video avatar / GIF within Twitter

All —

I’m in the process of shutting down my WordPress.com site and have moved to a self hosted site.

For this post, please click HERE or check out http://ericgoldstein.net/?p=130

Thanks.

15 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Katherine Singh on May 26, 2011 at 6:48 am

    Hi

    Could You PLease Help me

    I have been trying to upload an animated gif on twitter for awhile now and nothing has worked. I have followed your steps and still it has not worked… And yep i have changed the name .gif to .png

    Reply

  2. Posted by Katherine Singh on May 26, 2011 at 6:58 am

    OMG Sorry about that… I didn’t refresh my page but it is working!!! Thank You SOOOO Much!!!! =D=D

    Reply

  3. i followed the steps , but twitter says its too big! how can i make the gif smaller??

    Reply

    • Posted by EricSGoldstein on June 7, 2011 at 6:38 pm

      If you look at the sections, you need to use one of the editors to make the gif as small as possible. 30×30, 40×40 if it’s getting too big. You may also have too much video or too many images. Cut down on the amount of video or images you have and see if that fixes things.

      Reply

  4. do u know how to make the gifs smaller???! i need help with my gif..

    Reply

  5. Posted by Marina on July 17, 2011 at 10:09 am

    I followed all and it said its changed but its kist a blank space.. any ideas?

    Reply

    • Posted by Anonymous on July 17, 2011 at 10:21 am

      My quick advice would be to try a smaller video (lengthwise) and ensure the size of the icon is <50×50 (maybe even 40×40.  

      On the advice of a few "social media gurus", I actually took down my animated avatar (they felt that a picture is better to use), so I'm not sure if anything has changed since I posted tha article.   But I have continued to see animated avatars out there.

      Another thing to try would be to find an animated avatar (maybe a simple little animated .gif as well).   Rename it and try to assign it to your account and see if that works.

      Reply

    • Posted by Marina on July 17, 2011 at 3:12 pm

      Tried that too and still just a blank space 😦

      Reply

    • Posted by Anonymous on July 17, 2011 at 6:03 pm

      Did you try saving the dancing AIM icon or another simple animated gif as a png file?

      Also, upload it and give it some time to be accepted by Twitter.

      Honestly, if it’s STILL not working, Twitter might have closed the loop on it although I thought I’d seen a few animated avatars out there.

      Reply

      • Posted by Marina on July 17, 2011 at 8:08 pm

         Yeh tried uploading the dancing AIM.. its been up for 4 hours and still a blank spot.. im guessing it doesnt work anymore.. Thanks anyways

  6. Posted by Anonymous on July 17, 2011 at 10:23 am

    Try saving the dancing AIM icon above and see if you can assign that to your account.

    Reply

  7. Posted by GUEST on November 22, 2011 at 4:59 am

    After uploading my image on twitter once it plays out once it doesn’t restart unless I refresh the page. Is there a way to get it to auto play over and over again?

    Reply

  8. Posted by GUEST on November 22, 2011 at 5:32 am

    BTW, it’s a view that I uploaded.

    Reply

    • Posted by Anonymous on November 22, 2011 at 7:49 am

      That’s a new one for me.    Does it do the same thing on different browsers?   Do your friends see the animated icon?   If others are seeing it and not you, I’d say it was the browser.   If nobody is seeing it, I’d say it’s the icon you uploaded.

      Reply

  9. you can make animated twitter avatars on http://www.gifpal.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

