Some thoughts on Insanity vs. p90X

Haven’t been on in a while – need to write some more.

I finished p90x a few weeks ago – loved the results.

I started up Insanity and wrote up some thoughts on p90x vs. Insanity.

1) Shaun T is a good instructor – but not as good and motivating as Tony.   Little bit of a let down.
2) It’s definitely not for beginners or if you’re not in good shape.  p90x gives you options if you’re getting started.    Insanity does not.   People in the videos are dropping out left and right – and these are people in excellent shape.   You can slow down or do less or take breaks, but it’s not for the weak or first timers.
3) The program is EXCELLENT for the legs.   EXCELLENT for the cardio.   It’s also a nice surprise in that it works the abs very well.   I think it lacks some of the upper body workouts of p90x.    There is an upper body routine in Insanity, but the p90x routines are much better – Shaun T’s seems forced.   As has been mentioned elsewhere, I think a perfect workout program is a mix of p90x and Insanity.  I FOUND an excellent mix of this – basically p90x plus mixing in some of the Insanity workouts for cardio.   It’s perfect for me.
4) I don’t think that Shaun T stretches as intelligently or as long as Tony.   The workouts are HARD on the joints and legs.    I’d recommend a few more minutes of stretching on each end to avoid injury.
5) Most disappointing to me is that I felt that many of the routines feel very repetitive – many of the same moves and exercises.    In p90x you’re going for Kenpo to Plyo to Arms/Tris with weights, etc..     I just felt that many of the routines were similar with minor variations.   Again, incredible routines, but repetitive.
6) Never having done Yoga until p90x, I have grown to respect and love the time and exercise.    Insanity’s equivalent is “Cardio Recovery”.    Personally, I think that YogaX is a much better better routine.
7) A minor complaint in the flow.    I got the feeling that p90x realized that people were watching the video at home.   There are banners that come up well before the next exercise, so you can prepare for it — get the weight ready, prepare for the exercise.    While there is something that shows when a particular exercise is ending (a little timer), there is not enough warning on what is forthcoming.     Some of the exercises don’t seem to be as well thought out as p90x.
Bottom line, I’m a HUGE p90x fan – I give that routine 6 out of 5 stars.    In comparison,  Insanity is very good.    The quality of the videos are great, the workouts are hard and challenging, and as a minor bonus the girls in the video are very hot.
You won’t go wrong with it – and I haven’t seen anything like it, but I’d do p90x, p90x plus, and a hybrid p90x Plus/ Insanity before I did Insanity alone.

The reviews I’ve read so far about Insanity are glowing – which is understandable.   If you finish Insanity, it’s a MAJOR accomplishment.   I complete p90x and looked to Insanity as a “next step”.   Overall, it is – but I wanted to set a few expectations and comments based upon my (and a few others I’e talked to) and experience.
1) Shaun T is a good instructor – but not as good and motivating as Tony.   Little bit of a let down.2) It’s definitely not for beginners or if you’re not in good shape.  p90x gives you options if you’re getting started.    Insanity does not.   People in the videos are dropping out left and right – and these are people in excellent shape.   You can slow down or do less or take breaks, but it’s not for the weak or first timers.3) The program is EXCELLENT for the legs.   EXCELLENT for the cardio.   It’s also a nice surprise in that it works the abs very well.   I think it lacks some of the upper body workouts of p90x.    There is an upper body routine in Insanity, but the p90x routines are much better – Shaun T’s seems forced.   As has been mentioned elsewhere, I think a perfect workout program is a mix of p90x and Insanity.  I FOUND an excellent mix of this – basically p90x plus mixing in some of the Insanity workouts for cardio.   It’s perfect for me.4) I don’t think that Shaun T stretches as intelligently or as long as Tony.   The workouts are HARD on the joints and legs.    I’d recommend a few more minutes of stretching on each end to avoid injury.5) Most disappointing to me is that I felt that many of the routines feel very repetitive – many of the same moves and exercises.    In p90x you’re going for Kenpo to Plyo to Arms/Tris with weights, etc..     I just felt that many of the routines were similar with minor variations.   Again, incredible routines, but repetitive.6) Never having done Yoga until p90x, I have grown to respect and love the time and exercise.    Insanity’s equivalent is “Cardio Recovery”.    Personally, I think that YogaX is a much better better routine.  7) A minor complaint in the flow.    I got the feeling that p90x realized that people were watching the video at home.   There are banners that come up well before the next exercise, so you can prepare for it — get the weight ready, prepare for the exercise.    While there is something that shows when a particular exercise is ending (a little timer), there is not enough warning on what is forthcoming.     Some of the exercises don’t seem to be as well thought out as p90x.
Bottom line, I’m a HUGE p90x fan – I give that routine 6 out of 5 stars.    In comparison,  Insanity is very good.    The quality of the videos are great, the workouts are hard and challenging, and as a minor bonus the girls in the video are very hot.
You won’t go wrong with it – and I haven’t seen anything like it, but I’d do p90x, p90x plus, and a hybrid p90x Plus/ Insanity before I did Insanity alone.

Leave a Reply

